top of page

Caloy Raymundo and the Life of a Salesman


(WeGen Energy IV-A Regional Sales Manager Carlos Raymundo (second from the left) and his Team. )


An air-conditioning shop co-owner, linens supply salesman, shoe store manager in the United States, and a staff of the United Nations. WeGen Energy’s newly-appointed Regional Sales Manager for Regions IV-A and IV-Carlos Raymundo has been all of this, and his extensive work background and experience all help to make him an effective WeGen Energy ambassador today.


“I’ve been working in sales since I left university. I have a degree in business management, but I found that I enjoyed dealing with people from different backgrounds. Relating to people has always been easy for me because I also like to listen to their stories,” he said.

This is something that Caloy’s colleagues in WeGen would attest to: he is a sincere people person who’s always willing to help others.


Caloy joined WeGen as Employee No. 13 in mid-October of 2016 as a sales executive. He wasn’t familiar with solar PV systems and how they worked, but he was quick to learn all that he could about them.


“Salespeople should know what they’re selling back to front. It was important that I learn about the components of the usual solar PV system, but what was even more important to me was the importance of selling such a system: I’m no engineer, but I genuinely appreciate the usefulness of solar technology and the necessity of promoting it as an alternative source of energy to, say, coal-fired power plants. I resorted to a series of crash-courses on solar tech and solar power, and the more I learned, the more eager I became to selling WeGen’s systems,” he said.


Successful Commercial Projects


Among the first projects Caloy successfully worked on is the installation for the Holy Trinity Memorial Chapels and Crematorium (HTMC). The company is owned and operated by Keys Realty and Development Corporation, a wholly-owned corporation of the Knights of Columbus Fraternal Association of the Philippines, Inc. It is a three-story building in Paranaque City.


“We began building Holy Trinity’s 70.18 kWp solar PV system on May 7, 2018, and the project was inaugurated the following July 6. The negotiations for the contract itself with HTMC took a short time to finalize, but the small details of how the system works took longer to work out. It was a most interesting experience for me because I had to deal with the company’s engineers and other technical staff who had doubts about solar technology. I was very patient, and with the help of prayer and the gift of a banana cake, the engineers were finally convinced!” he shared, laughing.


With its lower electricity costs, Holy Trinity now uses its savings to bolster its operations and meet its business goal to become the biggest and most modern funeral home south of Metro Manila.


The HTMC was so satisfied with the solar PV system WeGen Energy installed that the president of the company Arsenio Yap released a message endorsing WeGen and the benefits of solar energy.





Caloy is also behind WeGen’s contract with the New Nemar Development Corp CMY (a motorcycle sales company in CM Recto, Lipa City, Batangas, as well as its sister company, the New Nemar Development Corp Revzone, in Marawoy, Lipa City, Batangas.


“I go back to the clients I used to have when I worked in other industries and recommend that they get solar PV systems installed too so they can save on electricity and funnel back the money they save back to their core business. It helps that I’ve made many good connections over the years, and even if they don’t immediately sign up for solar PV system, I make sure that when they do think of getting one, they get it from WeGen Energy,” he said.



Safety First When Meeting Clients

These days as the National Capital Region (NCR) and surrounding regions in Luzon remain under general quarantine because of COVID-19, Caloy and the rest of the WeGen Energy Sales Team including his own Region IV-A and IV-B teams continue to look for leads, conduct meetings, hold on-line presentations to clients and generally do their work as best as they can within the restrictions.


“Truth be told, it’s a little frustrating because we were all off to a very good start this 2020 when the pandemic hit. Still, we have so much to look forward to in terms of closing agreements and meeting more clients,” he said. Even now Caloy holds face-to-face meetings with clients where he gives presentations on WeGen’s solar PV systems and their benefits to businesses and households.


“I make sure to strictly observe health protocols when I meet clients – I wear a face mask, a face shield, and gloves. I even bring my own handheld thermal scanner! I assure clients that it’s safe to hold the meetings, and they’ve told me how much they appreciate the effort we make,” he said. Post-meeting, Caloy immediately takes off the gloves and secures them for later disposal, washes his hands thoroughly, and then uses alcohol. He also keeps a spray bottle of Lysol handy in his car.


“The way we’re very careful at the WeGen headquarters is also the way we’re careful when we’re outside when meeting clients: we prioritize the safety of people,” he said.


God, Family, Hard Work


At the end of the day, Caloy summarizes the meaning of his life and work in three words: “God, family, perseverance.” As he himself shared, he has had his share of frustrating experiences as a salesman (“dealing with potential clients who seem to be asking for bribes is the most terrible thing”), but he immediately resorts to prayer to clear his mind. He also thinks of his family – wife Wezie who’s a pre-school teacher and is also a barangay councilor now busy with the COVID-19 response of their community; and their two children Mikey, 22, and Rihanna, 25. Mikey attends the University of Sto. Tomas and is preparing for his nursing license, while Rihanna is in the US where she works.


“I have much to be grateful for, and I am thankful that my work is meaningful on many levels,” he said. “All we need to do is persevere and do our work; prayer is also important. We will all get through this pandemic,” he said. #

46 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page