top of page

Kathleen Bayot from WeGen's Tech Design Team: Learning is a Process and Commitment


Kathleen Bayot is a rarity in WeGen: she is one of only two women in WeGen’s 14-strong technical design and after-sales team. As an associate manager, she helps lead WeGen’s team of technical designers who put together the blueprints and plans for WeGen’s solar PV system projects.


A graduate from the Ateneo Cagayan de Oro with a degree in electronics engineering, Kathleen or Kats joined WeGen in July 2018. The core of her work is putting together the engineering design for grid-connected and off-grid solar photovoltaic systems for WeGen’s clients. The designs she and other members of her team create come with production estimates; they review structural, environmental, permitting, and zoning challenges for the projects.


“It’s interesting work. Yes, there’s a lot of math, measurements, and calculations involved,” she said laughing.


Gender Equality and Respect for Women


Kats is well-aware of the existence of a low-level but still palpable kind of discrimination against women in her field of work. She said that she has heard more than a few comments about how women can’t work as effectively as men in the field of engineering because of the physical challenges – climbing structures, lifting materials, doing fieldwork under the hot sun, etc.


“I’ve heard people make these comments, or I can see them thinking about it when I introduce myself as an engineer. Generally, I just ignore them – they’re the ones who are backward, anyway. These comments don’t bother me because I can always speak up and call them out,” she said.


Kats said that WeGen’s strict and conscious observance of gender equality and equal opportunity policies is something that she immediately appreciated when she joined the company.


“The HR department told me all about these policies during my application. I was applying for a post that people usually think are for men, but WeGen doesn’t consider gender consideration for hiring. I know that the company consciously tries to ensure that women are in leadership positions and that in the hiring process, women and men are accepted based on their qualifications, not on their gender,” she said.


Learning to Become an Expert

It may come as a surprise, but it was only in WeGen that learned all about designing solar PV systems. Just before joining WeGen, she worked in a telecommunications firm.

Is there a difference between doing designs for a telecoms firm and a solar company? Apparently yes – a very big difference.


“The designs are very different, of course; especially when it comes to the complexity. Everything was new to me, and I had to learn from scratch. I read several technical references, familiarized myself with codes and standards. I had a lot of learning and understanding to do,” she said.


Kats admitted that It was hard-going in the beginning because she had no background in solar technologies and systems. She was, however, very willing and eager to rise to the challenge of learning, and more importantly, to practice and implement what she learned.

“I was really determined to learn. I immediately familiarized myself with the technology, with the design of the solar PV panel systems, all the components, and how they function together. Apart from the training workshops on solar tech that WeGen gave us, I also took it upon myself to study independently. The technology continues to evolve, and this is why it’s important to always keep abreast of developments in the field, in the industry,” she said.


It’s also very fortunate for Kats that her teammates were and continue to be very supportive. They all support each other on projects.


“We consult each other whenever we encounter difficulties and can’t seem to move forward on a design. It’s a positive work environment because everyone is willing to share their expertise and insight. We read and learn independently, but we also regularly consult one another and help each other out. The goal is always to move forward on the work, to make sure that we meet deadlines, and we support each other so we can do this,” she explained.


All of her efforts at learning immediately paid off for Kats when WeGen operationalized the system she designed.


“One of my favorite projects is the solar PV system WeGen installed on the rooftop of the St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral in Cagayan de Oro. It’s one of the projects I designed, and it’s also among the first of my designs to be used. Also, because I grew up in CDO, I feel proud about being part of a project for a church I used to attend mass in,” she said.


Perseverance is one of Kat’s strongest values: when she commits to something, she does her best to ensure its completion. For instance, when she committed to improve her health and manage her weight better, she joined a gym and took boxing lessons three times a week. She also engaged in a more balanced nutrition scheme.


In a month the results became evident; from them on, she has maintained her health regimen. As Kats explained it, it’s all a matter of discipline.


“I believe that if you put the force of your will and belief behind something you want to accomplish, you can do it. There will be challenges along the way, but if you persevere, your efforts will meet success. Also, it helps if you have good friends and co-workers to support you,” she said.


Keeping Busy, Looking Forward


Throughout the COVID-10 quarantine, Kats has been keeping herself busy reading and doing her physical exercises. She has moved on to reading business books (“I want to understand better how businesses should work to expand and improve”), but she also watches sci-fi movies and so-called “K-Dramas” (for Korean tv series) on Netflix.


“I wouldn’t say I’m learning a lot from the Korean dramas, but they are distracting,” she said.

At the end of the day, Kats is also very grateful that WeGen continues to support its employees, and for the lessons, she’s learning.


“I’m sure that everyone feels the same about how the company is being supportive: very grateful. The disruption caused by COVID-19 is serious, but I know that we can move forward from all of this. We have direction and we have a purpose as a company, and our mission to promote renewable energy, specifically solar, is very relevant given the climate emergency and the post-pandemic scenario we want to build. We should all learn from what we’re experiencing now,” she concluded. #

36 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page